Not Just For The Kids

I watch A LOT of kids shows & movies.

One thing I have noticed lately is the quality of the soundtracks. Generally, recording artists are contracted to write/perform a specific song for the movie and that is it. However, a new trend I am seeing is the adaptation of an artist’s existing catalog into an animated feature.

The first time I noticed this was at the end of Disney’s “The Pirate Fairy” (from their Disney Fairies franchise). I am rarely a fan of “Direct To DVD” releases, but I have to admit I am smitten with these fairy movies.

The song at the end of the movie is called “Weightless” by Natasha Bedingfield and after pulling it up in Spotify, it was immediately evident that this song was not written expressly for “The Pirate Fairy” once I heard these lyrics:

“They told me ‘Girl to get your way, you’ve got to be a bitch’
They say a guy won’t get the girl if he’s not filthy rich.”

Only 1 verse and the chorus are used in the movie (for obvious reasons).

I think the song is great, and it seems that people are finally starting to realize that you don’t have to go all cutesy and saccharin with kids music. I find that most kid music is catchy, yet insufferable and it’s a nice change to hear something that isn’t just syrupy sweet, rainbows & unicorn farts.

Regardless of whether or not the songs are created just for the movie, I hold a special place in my heart for kid movie songs because I am basically a 12 year old at heart.

Jenn’s Top 10 Kid Movie Songs

10. Down In New Orleans – Dr. John (The Princess and the Frog)

9. Just A Cloud Away – Pharrell Williams (Despicable Me 2)

8. The Great Divide – McClain Sisters (Disney Fairies “Secret of the Wings”)

7. Let It Go – Idina Menzel (Frozen)

6. Le Festin – Camille (Ratatouille)

5. La Da Dee – Cody Simpson (Cloudy With A Chance Of Meatballs 2)

4. When Can I See You Again – Owl City (Wreck-It Ralph)

3. When She Loved Me – Sarah McLachlan (Toy Story 2)

2. Hawaiian Roller Coaster Ride – Mark Keali’l Ho’omalu & Kamehameha Schools Children’s Chorus (Lilo & Stitch)

1. Weightless (Less is More version) – Natasha Bedingfield (The Pirate Fairy)

4 thoughts on “Not Just For The Kids

  1. You know I’m an advocate of not limiting kids to kiddie music. My kids love the music I love, just as my parents passed down their music to me.

    When artists lend their music to kids programming, it’s a treat for the parents suffering through kids shows and it starts a foundation for appreciating grown up music later.

Leave a comment