3:1 : Lovesong

By Valerie

Welcome to 3:1.

After spending the month of October sharing and critiquing each other’s selection of cover songs and realizing there are so many conversation-worthy covers, we decided to keep the discussion going and introduce 3:1 – a weekly installment on the blog where I’ll share a ratio of 3:1 of covers to originals. Some weeks will feature 3 covers and an original, some will feature 3 originals and cover. Some weeks may feature the same artist, some the same song, and some weeks may be a variety with a theme. The only rule is the 3:1 ratio.

Unlike our October series, these covers may or may not be better than the original. In fact, several of the songs I’ll be sharing in the first few weeks were on my list of songs that didn’t quite make the cut in October because while they were great, the original was just too darn good. 

To kick things off, let’s look at The Cure‘s “Lovesong” from the 1989 album Disintegration.

3 Covers:

Adele from 21, 2011.

 

Kevin Devine from Devinyl Splits No. 3: Tigers Jaw x Kevin Devine, 2015.

 

The Brains from The Cover Up- EP, 2014.

The Original:

 

I think these covers each stand out in different ways and are all quite good, but none quite top the original in my mind. Let us know what you think!

When available, I’ll be adding the covers featured each week to my 3:1 playlist on Spotify:

 

Leave a comment